Seven mayoral candidates in Newark's special election

Seven Newark residents are vying to become the city's next mayor in a special election next month.

City secretary Renee Bensley says the group of seven canidates includes Councilman Mark Morehead, who filed for candidacy on Friday.

The deadline for candidates to file was on Monday at 5 p.m.

Also running in the race is Amy Roe, Polly Sierer, Donald DelCollo Jr., Robyn Harland, Rebecca Powers, and Matthew Vento.

The special election is set to occur on Nov. 26.

Copyright © Dec 21, 2014, WDEL/Delmarva Broadcasting Company. All Rights Reserved.
Advanced permission from Delmarva Broadcasting Company required for publication or rebroadcast.