VIDEO: Polly Sierer wins Newark mayoral election

Polly Sierer was elected mayor Newark on Tuesday in the city's first contested mayoral race since 2007.

Sierer received 1506 votes from a total of 3596 ballots cast in the election, which fielded seven candidates.

She'll be sworn in at the city council chambers on Tuesday.

"Getting the candidates together is actually step number one because we have a polarized community right now," Sierer said. "We need to regroup and come together and work toward the same goals: to make this a great place to live, work and visit."

The turnout for the election was higher than other contests held in recent years, despite rainy conditions and the upcoming Thanksgiving holiday.

When Vance A. Funk III was elected mayor in 2004, he won a majority of the 3,567 votes cast in the election.

Sierer won Tuesday's contest with a plurality of nearly 41 percent of the electorate.

However, only about 24 percent of the 15,242 Newark residents able to vote in the election actually cast a ballot.

Amy Roe finished second with 1391 votes. She was followed by Rebecca Powers and City Councilman Mark Morehead who finished with 487 and 148 votes respectively.

Roe, who is known by many for her speaking at city council meetings and work with the Residents Against the Power Plant group, says she'll continue to be involved in the community.

"That won't change," she said. "That won't change at all."

Sierer will finish out the remainder of a three-year term started by Vance A. Funk III in April that is set to expire in 2016. His resignation in September prompted the special election.

The 55-year-old resident of the Christianstead community, is known by many for her volunteer work. She serves on the board of the Newark Senior Center and is also president of the Newark Area Welfare Committee.

Copyright © Jan 27, 2015, WDEL/Delmarva Broadcasting Company. All Rights Reserved.
Advanced permission from Delmarva Broadcasting Company required for publication or rebroadcast.