HS Football Preview - Newark

By Brandon Bossert 12:17am, August 30, 2014
Newark comes into 2014 with explosive offense and big returning talent.

The Yellow Jackets finished 2013 with a disappointing 3-7 record, but will return with standout senior quarterback Benjamin Campbell

Campbell was named a Newark captain after moving to area before last season. Coach Butch Simpson says it was a tough adjustment for him, but he was able to earn his spot as captain after only a few weeks.

During the offseason Campbell was on team Delaware 7-on-7 who went to Florida to compete in the national championship tournament, and feels he improved on his passing.

"We know our strength is in throwing it and catching it, we know we can do that. Ben is a veteran now, and has really adjusted" says Coach Simpson. The Jackets have a very experienced core at wide receiver this season being led by seniors Jimmy Bond, Peter Suski, and Darrel Chambers. Joe Burton will contribute as a wide receiver-tight end hybrid.

NEWARK FOOTBALL SCHEDULE (As of August 29)
Friday, September 5 - Vs. Oxford - 7pm
Friday, September 12 - Vs. Charter - 7pm
Friday, September 19 - At Glasgow - 7pm
Friday, September 26 - Vs. Delcastle - 7pm
Saturday, October 4 - At William Penn - 1pm
Friday, October 10 - Vs. A.I. duPont - 7pm
Friday, October 17 - At Appoquinimick - 7pm
Saturday, October 25 - At Hodgson - 10:30am
Friday, October 31 - Vs. Middletown - 7pm
Saturday, November 8 - At Concord - 10:30am


Most Recent Stories