Delaware LB Williams named CAA Defensive Rookie of the Year

By Sean Greene 7:05pm, November 19, 2012
Delaware redshirt freshman Jeff Williams has been named the CAA Football Defensive Rookie of the Year after a vote of the league's 11 head coaches.

Williams, out of Wayne, Pa., led CAA newcomers in sacks (6.5) and tackles for loss (14). He is a finalist for the Jerry Rice Award, given out to the nation's top freshman in part because the sack total is 2nd nationally while the tackles for loss leads all of I-AA. He becomes the first Delaware player to earn the league Defensive Rookie of the Year Award since cornerback Sidney Haugabrook in 2001.

Concord High School alum Paul Worrilow was the only Blue Hen selected to the CAA's First Team. The linebacker led the conference with 107 tackles and finished his career 5th in school history with 377 stops. He had a career-high 18 tackles in the victory over Penn State.

Wide Receiver Nihja White joined offensive guard Bobby Kennedy, defensive tackle Zach Kerr on the second time, while running back Andrew Pierce and offensive lineman Brandon Heath joined Williams on the 3rd team.

Villanova's Andy Talley was named the league's Coach of the Year, Old Dominion's Taylor Heinicke earned the Offensive Player of the Year nod, while JMU's Stephon Robertson was voted the top defensive player.

Most Recent Stories