76ers introduce Delaware 87ers as newest D-League team

By Sean Greene 7:35pm, April 27, 2013 - Updated 2:14pm, April 28, 2013
VIDEO: Sixers management and Sen. Chris Coons discuss the impact of a D-League team in Delaware.
The Philadelphia 76ers have announced the purchase of an NBA D-League team and will place them in Newark under the name "Delaware 87ers" next season.

The team will become the 6th D-League team to be owned entirely by an NBA franchise, and wants to be nicknamed the "Sevens" when they open up play in the 2013-2014 season which runs from November to April.

The 76ers join Cleveland, San Antonio, Golden State, Oklahoma City, and the Knicks as teams that own 100% of franchises in the now-17 member league.

87ers was selected as the team name in tribute to December, 7, 1787, the day Delaware became the first state to ratify the Constitution.

Some of the other team names in the league include the Fort Wayne Mad Ants, Maine Red Claws, Reno Bighorns, and the Tulsa 66ers. The league was founded in 2001 and all teams have an affiliation with at least one NBA franchise. The Sixers had been connected to the Sioux Falls (S.D.) Skyforce along with three other teams.

There is an 8-round NBA D-League Draft which will help construct the Sevens roster, which also has allocated spots for locally based players, players owned by the parents club, and players who have previously played for the franchise.

According to the team's website, single game ticket prices for the 87ers run from $9 for bleacher seats to $125-$150 for floor seats, with the higher price coming near center court.

The team will play its games at the Bob Carpenter Center, with a yet-announced training location, with the team's offices located in Wilmington.

Most Recent Stories